Final Reflection

This class has been very in-depth and different than expected. Going into the class I had taken a lot of classes about the region I expected more of the same. Though I did get more of the same as far as the political dynamics of the region. What I found most interesting was the cultural deep dive. Such as when Spain was apart of the Arab world or the Dum Tree in Sudan and the clash of old vs. New. The most interesting of the cultural depths was the Yacoubian Building which gave a multitude of perspectives on the region itself. By far the best part of the class was the trip into DC visiting embassies was so interesting and with a really cool talk from the Egyptian ambassador, I can say that was very very very different than what I expected. Overall I didn’t expect a lot from this class and I am surprised by all that I have learned and experienced.

Leave a comment